Continuing Education (CNE) Requirements for Nurses in Texas

Texas nurses are required to complete 20 hours of continuing nursing education (CNE) in the nurse's area of practice every 2 years.

Appropriate subject matter is limited to courses that relate to a nurse’s area of practice. Courses can be taken online or by self-study.

Nurses who provide care to older adult patients must complete at least two contact hours related to older adult or geriatric care every renewal cycle.

Texas nurses are required to complete 2 hours of nursing jurisprudence and ethics every third renewal cycle, provided, however, that the content must include information about the Texas Nursing Practice Act; the Texas Board of Nursing (BON) rules, including Board Rule 217.11; Standards of Nursing Practice; the Texas BON Position Statements; principles of nursing ethics; and professional boundaries. See Texas Board of Nursing Bulletin April 2014. At Health does not offer this ethics content.

CE Approvals

The Texas Board of Nursing recognizes credentialing agencies and providers from other state boards of nursing such as the California Board of Nursing. At Health is a provider approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing (CA BRN), Provider #CEP 17059.

View the Course Catalog

State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the Texas continuing education regulations, click the button below.

Texas Nursing Continuing Education Requirements

Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on Jul 21, 2018.

Featured Courses