CE Requirements for Licensed Mental Health Counselors (LMHC) in Washington State

Washington State mental health counselors (LMHC) are required to complete 36 hours of continuing education (CE), including 6 hours of professional law and ethics, every 2 years. As of January 2014, LMHCs are also required to take a 6 hour course in suicide assessment, treatment, and management every 6 years. These 6 hours count toward the required 36 hours.

Online learning is limited to 26 credits. Therefore, mental health counselors can earn 26 of the 36 hours through distance learning courses, such as those offered by athealth.com.

The WA State Board of Health, which is responsible for oversight of mental health counselors in Washington State, accepts courses from providers approved by such professional organizations as NBCC. At Health is an NBCC approved CE provider (ACEP #6719).

Washington State mental health counselors can earn 26 of their 36 credits online through athealth.com, including meeting the requirement for 6 hours of training in suicide assessment, treatment, and management.  Click here to view the athealth.com course catalog

To view the Washington continuing education regulations, go to http://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificates/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/MentalHealthCounselor

Page last modified or reviewed on April 26, 2015