CE requirements for CO social workers:
- 40 PDH (professional development hours) every 2 years
- No more than 20 PDH in a single PDA (or category)
Professional development hours (PDH) must be directly relevant to competence in the social work field. Activities should provide new knowledge, skills, or attitudes and sharpen or expand existing skills in professional practice, communication and critical thinking, ethics, cultural competence, professional relationships, professional identity, and professional knowledge.
Professional development activities (PDA) include: Volunteer Service, Consultation, Supervision, Presenting, Coursework, Publication, Independent Learning. No more than 20 PDH can be credited in a single PDA category during a 2-year renewal cycle. For example, a professional can earn 20 hours in coursework and 20 hours in independent learning to fulfill the requirement.
CE Approvals: The Colorado State Board of Social Work Examiners does not approve courses, but will accept relevant courses from NBCC approved providers. At Health, Inc. is approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP # 6719.
CO social workers can earn their professional development hours online through athealth.com. View the course catalog at http://athealth.com/course-catalog/
State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the Colorado continuing education regulations, go to https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/Social_Work
Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on November 24, 2017