Continuing Education (CE) for Psychologists in North Carolina

Psychologists (PhD, PsyD) in North Carolina are required to take:
  • 18 hours of continuing education (CE) every 2 years, including a minimum of 3 hours in ethics and law

Category A
At least 9 of the 18 CE credits must be in Category A
Category A covers ethics and law and courses that upgrade skills in scope of practice
All 18 hours can be Category A

Category B
9 hours maximum of Category B – Category B doesn’t require a certificate of completion

  • Renewals due Sept 30 of even-numbered years
  • The North Carolina Psychology Board accepts online courses
  • The Board accepts courses by APA approved sponsors. At Health is approved by the American Psychological Association (APA) to sponsor continuing education for psychologists.

North Carolina psychologists can earn all eighteen (18) of their CE credits online through athealth.com.  View the course catalog

State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the North Carolina continuing education regulations, go to http://www.ncpsychologyboard.org/continuingeducation.htm

Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on June 26, 2015