Continuing Education for Social Workers in Maine

CE requirements for ME social workers (LCSW, LMSW, LSW):

  • 25 hours of continuing education every 2 years, including 4 hours of ethics
  • LSW Conditionals are required to complete 6 hours of ethics and 6 hours of psychosocial assessment for their first renewal
  • Maximum of 10 hours may be earned through online learning

CE Approvals: Licensees are responsible for determining if a course is applicable and appropriate to his/her professional development as a social worker. The Maine Board of Social Worker Licensure does not approve CE providers. However, ASWB may assist the board in making a determination regarding the relevancy of a continuing education activity.

Programs for social workers are available for continuing education credit through the co-sponsorship of At Health, Inc., and Amedco, LLC. Amedco, #1346, is approved as a provider for social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) www.aswb.org, through the Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program. Amedco maintains responsibility for the program.

ME social workers can earn 10 of their CE credits online through athealth.com. View the course catalog at http://athealth.com/course-catalog/

State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the ME continuing education regulations, go to http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/social_workers/

Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on September 20, 2016