To be certified substance abuse counselors in Virginia are required to take 400 hours of substance abuse education.
To be certified substance abuse counseling assistants are required to take 300 hours of substance abuse education
See https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/counseling/leg/Substance%20Abuse%20Counselors%204-14-10.doc for specific courses required.
CE Approvals: To meet the certification requirements, the Virginia Board of Counseling accepts courses from providers approved by such organizations as NBCC and NAADAC. Athealth.com is approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP #6719. Athealth.com is approved as a continuing education provider by the National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC) Provider #148460
State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the Virginia continuing education regulations, go to https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/counseling/counseling_laws_regs.htm
Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on June 19, 2015