Washington State certified counselors (CC) and certified advisors (CA) must complete 36 credit hours of CE (continuing education) every 2 years. At least 6 of the 36 credit hours must be in professional law and ethics related to counseling. WAC 246-810-027. In addition, once every 6 years, WA State certified counselors and certified advisors must complete at least a 3 hour training in suicide assessment, including screening and referral, as specified in WAC 246-810-0298. The training must be provided by a single provider
Per WAC 246-810-029, acceptable continuing education courses include seminars, workshops, and distance learning programs offered by approved providers of professional organizations such as the American Psychological Association and NBCC.
At Health is approved by the American Psychological Association to sponsor continuing education for psychologists. At Health maintains responsibility for the program and its content. At Health is approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, (ACEP # 6719).
WA State certified counselors and certified advisors can take 12 of the required 36 credit hours online through athealth. Click here to view the athealth.com course catalog.
To view the Washington continuing education regulations, go to http://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificates/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/CertifiedCounselor
Page last modified or reviewed on April 22, 2015