Continuing Education for Social Workers in Maine

Attention: Several states and disciplines have relaxed requirements regarding live / in person Continuing Education due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Please check with your board to see the most current requirements.

CE requirements for ME social workers (LCSW, LMSW, LSW):

  • 25 hours of continuing education every 2 years, including 4 hours of ethics
  • LSW Conditionals are required to complete 6 hours of ethics and 6 hours of psychosocial assessment for their first renewal
  • Maximum of 10 hours may be earned through online learning

CE Approvals

Continuing education must relate directly to social work practice. The Maine Board of Social Worker Licensure does not approve CE providers. Licensees are responsible for determining if a course is applicable and appropriate to his/her professional development as a social worker.

ME social workers can earn 10 of their CE credits online through athealth.com.

View the course catalog

State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the ME continuing education regulations, click the button below.

CE Requirements for Maine Social Workers

Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on Sep 30, 2020.

Ethics Courses