CE requirements for Kansas social workers (LMSW, LSCSW, LBSW):
- 40 CE hours every 2 years, including 3 hours of ethics and at least 6 hours of CE related to the diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders
- Board accepts self-study programs with a posttest
- Board allows 40 CE hours of online self-study
- All new social workers must have at least 6 hours of social worker safety awareness training as part of the 40 hours of CE that is required for licensure renewal. Class should include objectives such as learning to assess the environment, understanding reciprocal communication, studying safety protocols, identification and de-escalation of tense situations, responses to potentially dangerous circumstances, identifying the need for and obtaining assistance, debriefing, administrative and peer support, supervision, and self-care.
CE Approvals: The Kansas Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board accepts relevant courses from ASWB approved providers. Programs for social workers are available for continuing education credit through the co-sponsorship of At Health, Inc., and Amedco, LLC. Amedco, #1346, is approved as a provider for social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) www.aswb.org, through the Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program. Amedco maintains responsibility for the program.
KS social workers can earn forty (40) of their CE credits online through athealth.com. View the course catalog at http://athealth.com/course-catalog/
State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the KS continuing education regulations, go to http://www.ksbsrb.org/socialworkers.htm
Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on January 29, 2016