CE for Alabama (AL) Social Workers

Attention: Several states and disciplines have relaxed requirements regarding live / in person Continuing Education due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Please check with your board to see the most current requirements.

CE requirements for AL social workers (LICSW, LMSW, LBSW):

  • 30 hours of continuing education (CE) every 2 years
  • 20 of the required 30 hours can be taken via self-study/home-study
  • Must include a minimum of 3 hours of ethics
  • Social workers who have a PIP (private independent practice) license also need 20 hours in addition to the required 30 hours. All of the PIP hours can be by self-study
  • Courses must be social work related
  • Licensees must complete a one credit course in child abuse and neglect reporting. This is a one-time requirement.
  • Beginning October 2018, all licensees will need three (3) hours in clinical social work
  • Licensees who provide supervision need three (3) hours in supervision

CE Approvals

The Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners accepts courses from APA approved providers, ASWB approved providers, and other state licensing social work boards. At Health, LLC is approved by the American Psychological Association to sponsor continuing education for psychologists. At Health, LLC maintains responsibility for this program and its content.

At Health, LLC, Provider #1707, is approved to offer social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program. Organizations, not individual courses, are approved as ACE providers. State and provincial regulatory boards have the final authority to determine whether an individual course may be accepted for continuing education credits. At Health, LLC, maintains responsibility for this course. ACE provider approval period: 6/3/2019-6/3/2020

Alabama social workers can earn 20 of their 30 credits online through athealth.com.

View the course catalog

State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the Alabama continuing education regulations, click the button below.

Alabama - CE Regulations for Social Workers

Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on Sep 28, 2020.

Featured Courses