Pennsylvania licensed professional counselors (LPC) are required to earn:
- 30 hours of continuing education (CE) every 2 years, including 3 hours in ethics, at least 1 hour of CE on suicide assessment and treatment, and 2 hours in child abuse recognition and reporting
- 20 of the required CE hours can be in home study or online
- Renewal date: February 28, odd-numbered years
Pennsylvania LPCs can earn twenty (20) of their CE credits online through athealth.com
Our course, Suicide Assessment and Intervention, meets the PA requirement for CE on suicide assessment and treatment.
Act 31 Child Abuse: All health-related licensees applying for the renewal of a license issued by the Board shall be required to complete at least 2 hours of Board approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements. The reporting for this mandatory training program differs from the reporting for ordinary continuing education. Currently, athealth.com does not have a course that meets this 2-credit requirement. For additional information about Act 31, see http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Pages/Act-31-Frequently-Asked-Questions.aspx#.VYdOK_lViko
State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the PA continuing education regulations, click the button below.
Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on .