Continuing education (CE) requirements for social workers (LCSW, LCSWA, CSW, CMSW, CSWM) in NC:
- Forty (40) hours of continuing education (CE) every 2 years, including 4 hours of ethics
- Except for LCSW Associate license (LCSWA), all certifications and the LCSW license have a June 30th renewal date.
- North Carolina Social Work Certification and Licensure Board accepts maximum of twenty (20) hours of distance learning like home study, webinars or online courses offered by ASWB approved providers. Live synchronous webinars that allow for live interaction between facilitator and participants are considered an attended training (not a distance education activity).
- Programs are available for continuing education credit through the co-sponsorship of At Health, LLC, and Amedco, LLC. Amedco, #1346, is approved as a provider for social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) www.aswb.org, through the Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program. Amedco maintains responsibility for the program. ASWB Approval Period: 6/24/2016 to 6/24/2019.
Athealth.com courses are available for up to 20 credits for North Carolina social workers. View the course catalog
State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the North Carolina continuing education regulations, go to http://www.ncswboard.org/files/RENEWALaffidavit_RVSD.2015.pdf
Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on May 22, 2018