CE requirements for drug and alcohol counselors in Kentucky:
- Alcohol and Drug Peer Support Specialist (PSS): Minimum of 10 CE hours accrued each year during the 3 year registration period
- Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC): Minimum of 60 CE hours accrued during the 3 year certification period for renewal, including 3 hours in ethics
- Licensed Clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LCADC): Minimum of 60 CE hours accrued during the 3 year licensure period for renewal, including 3 hours in ethics
- Licensed Clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselor Associate (LCADCA): Minimum of 20 hours accrued each year, including 3 hours in ethics during the 3 year licensure period for renewal
In addition, all drug and alcohol counselors are required to complete 6 hours of continuing education in suicide assessment, treatment, and management by July 2016 and every six (6) years, thereafter.
All continuing education hours shall be relevant to the field of alcohol and drug counseling.
CE Approvals: The Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors accepts courses from NADAAC approved sponsors. Athealth.com is approved as a continuing education provider by the National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC) Provider #148460.
Kentucky alcohol and drug counselors can earn one-half (1/2) of their credits online through athealth.com. View our course catalog at http://athealth.com/course-catalog/
State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the Kentucky continuing education regulations, go to http://adc.ky.gov/Documents/ADC%20Laws%20and%20Regulations%202017.pdf
Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on November 16, 2017