CE requirements for social workers (LCSW, CSW, LSW) in Kentucky:
- 30 hours of continuing education every 3 years for LCSW, CSW (certified social worker)
- 15 hours of CE every 3 years for LSW
- Including 3 hours of ethics – ethics must be taken in a live, face-to-face program
- Must take 6 hours of continuing education in suicide assessment, treatment, and management within the first year of licensure and every six (6) years thereafter, starting with July 2016. See http://bsw.ky.gov/Documents/Other%20Suicide%20Prevention%20Courses-Online.pdf
- Must take 2 hours of CE on HIV/AIDS courses approved by the Cabinet for Health and Family Services pursuant to KRS 214.610 every third renewal period.
- Must take 3 hours of CE on domestic violence during the three year cycle following initial licensure.
- Must take 1.5 hours of CE on pediatric abusive head trauma once every six (6) years
- One-half (1/2) of the CE hours can be taken via home study, distance learning, or teleconference courses.
CE Approvals: The Kentucky Board of Social Work accepts courses from APA, ASWB, and NBCC approved sponsors. At Health (athealth.com) is approved by the American Psychological Association to sponsor continuing education for psychologists. At Health, Inc. is approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP #6719. Our co-sponsor, Amedco, #1346, is approved as a provider for social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) www.aswb.org, through the Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program.
Except for courses on ethics that require live presentations, Kentucky social workers can earn one-half (1/2) of their credits online through athealth.com. View our course catalog at http://athealth.com/course-catalog/
State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the Kentucky continuing education regulations, go to http://bsw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx
Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on June 30, 2016