CE Requirements for Licensed Mental Health Counselors (LMHC) in Washington State

Washington State mental health counselors (LMHC) are required to complete

  • 36 hours of continuing education (CE), including 6 hours of professional law and ethics, every 2 years
  • LMHCs are also required to take a 6 hour course in suicide assessment, treatment, and management every 6 years. These 6 hours count toward the required 36 hours. Our course is listed on the WA State Department of Health Model List.
  • Online learning is limited to 26 credits. Therefore, mental health counselors can earn 26 of the 36 hours through distance learning courses, such as those offered by athealth.com.

CE Approvals:

The WA State Board of Health accepts courses from providers approved by local, state, national and international organizations that are industry-recognized, such as APA, NBCC, AAMFT, and others. At Health is approved by the American Psychological Association to sponsor continuing education for psychologists. At Health maintains responsibility for the program and its content.

Washington State mental health counselors can earn 26 of their 36 credits online through athealth.com, including meeting the requirement for 6 hours of training in suicide assessment, treatment, and management.

View the course catalog

State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the Washington state continuing education regulations, click the button below.

Washington LMHC CE Regulations

Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on Jul 31, 2018.

Ethics Courses

Featured Courses