Continuing Education for Addiction Counselors in Colorado

Attention: Several states and disciplines have relaxed requirements regarding live / in person Continuing Education due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Please check with your board to see the most current requirements.

CE requirements for Colorado addiction counselors:

Certified Addiction Counselors II and III
Licensed Addiction Counselors

  • 40 PDH (professional development hours) every 2 years
  • No more than 20 PDH in a single PDA (or category)

PDA (professional development activities) must develop your professional skill and be directly relevant to competence in addiction counseling and the behavioral health field.

Professional development activities (PDA)  include: Volunteer Service, Consultation, Supervision, Presenting, Coursework, Publication, Independent Learning. No more than 20 PDH can be credited in a single PDA category during a 2-year renewal cycle. For example, a professional can earn 20 hours in coursework and 20 hours in independent learning to fulfill the requirement.

CE Approvals

The Colorado State Board of Addiction Counselor Examiners does not approve courses, but will accept relevant courses from NAADAC approved providers. is approved as a continuing education provider by the National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC) Provider #148460

CO addiction counselors can earn 40 professional development hours online through

View the course catalog

State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the Colorado continuing education regulations, CE Requirements for Colorado Addiction Counselors

Page last modified or reviewed by on Sep 28, 2020.

Addiction Courses

Featured Courses