Florida counselors and specialists subject to the Florida Certification Board are required to earn continuing education (CE) credits to renew their certifications as follows:
Certified Mental Health Professional (CMHP)
- Must earn 20 CE hours each year
- Renewal due date every year: June 30
- Click here for the Florida CMHP Regulations from the Florida Certification Board
Certified Behavioral Health Technician (CBHT)
- Must earn 10 CE hours of CE each year. Renewal date: June 30
- Training content must be related to at least one of the performance domains.
- Click here for the Florida Certified Behavioral Health Technician regulations
Certified Recovery Peer Specialist (CRPS, CRPS-A, CRPS-F, CRPS-V)
- Must earn 10 CE hours per year. Renewal date: June 30
- Training content must be related to at least one of the CRPS performance domains.
- Click here for the Florida CRPS Guide
Community Health Worker
Certified Community Health Worker (CCHW)
- Must earn 10 clock hours per year. Renewal every two years, on June 30th of the renewal year.
- Content must relate to at least one of the CHW performance domains of Communication and Education; Resources; Advocacy; Foundations of Health; or Professional Responsibility.
- Click here for the Florida CCHW Guide
Employer Sponsored Child Welfare Certification:
Child Welfare Provisional (CWP)
Certified Child Welfare Protective Investigator (CWPI)
Certified Child Welfare Case Manager (CWCM)
Certified Child Welfare Licensing Counselor (CWLC)
- Certified professionals are required to complete a total of 40 hours of continuing education as follows: The first time the credential is renewed, the certified professional must complete a minimum of 40 hours of continuing education dated between the date of the credential award and the credential expiration date.
- For each subsequent renewal, the certified professional must complete a minimum of 40 hours allocated as follows: 20 hours earned between November 1st and October 31st of the first year; 20 hours earned between November 1st and October 31st of the following year.
- Click here for the Florida Child Welfare Certifications
Certification Board Policies and Procedures
For details on renewals and continuing education for various certificates, click here to reference the documentation provided by the Florida Certification Board.
Florida certified professionals can earn all of their CE credits online through athealth.com.
State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the Florida continuing education regulations, click the button below.
Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on .