Virginia Substance Abuse Counselor Certification

Attention: Several states and disciplines have relaxed requirements regarding live / in person Continuing Education due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Please check with your board to see the most current requirements.

Continued competency requirements for licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners (LSATP) in Virginia:

  • 20 hours each year, including a minimum of 2 hours of ethics
  • Renewal date: June 30 of each year

CE Approvals:

The Virginia Board of Counseling accepts courses from providers approved by such organizations as NAADAC. is approved as a continuing education provider by the National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC) Provider #148460

Virginia LSATPs can earn twenty (20) of their CE credits online through

View the course catalog

State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the Virginia continuing education regulations, click the button below.

Virginia LSATP CE Requirements

Page last modified or reviewed by on Sep 30, 2020.

Addiction Courses

Featured Courses