Continuing Education Requirements for LMFTs in Washington State

Washington State marriage and family therapists (LMFT) are required to complete

  • 36 hours of continuing education (CE), including 6 hours of professional law and ethics, every 2 years
  • LMFTs are also required to take a 6 hour course in suicide assessment, treatment, and management every 6 years. These 6 hours count toward the required 36 hours. Our course is listed on the WA State Department of Health Model List.
  • WA state LMFTs can earn 26 of the 36 hours through distance learning courses

CE Approvals:

The WA State Board of Health accepts courses from providers approved by local, state, national and international organizations that are industry-recognized, such as APA, NBCC, AAMFT, and others. At Health is approved by the American Psychological Association to sponsor continuing education for psychologists. At Health maintains responsibility for the program and its content. is an approved provider of the Texas State Board of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists, provider #908.

Washington State marriage and family therapists (LMFTs) can earn 26 of their 36 credits online through, including meeting the requirement for 6 hours of training in suicide assessment, treatment, and management.

View the course catalog

To view the Washington continuing education regulations, click the button below.

Washington LMFT CE Regulations

Page last modified or reviewed by on Jul 31, 2018.

Ethics Courses

Featured Courses