CE for California Social Workers (LCSW)

California social workers (LCSWs) must take 36 hours of CE (continuing education) every 2 years, including 6 hours of ethics every renewal period.

LCSWs must also have taken:

  • 7-hour of continuing education course in spousal or partner abuse. This is a one-time only CE requirement.
  • 3 hours of continuing education in aging and long-term care. This is a one-time only CE requirement.
  • 7-hour continuing education course in HIV-AIDS. This is a one-time only CE requirement.

CE Approval: At Health is an approved provider of the California Board of Behavior Sciences (PCE 3319). Our courses meet the qualifications for continuing education credit for LCSWs as required by the California Board of Behavioral Sciences. (CA BBS continuing education regulations are changing. The athealth.com CE provider status with CA BBS is valid through October 31, 2016. After that date, our CE provider approval through the American Psychological Association and NBCC (ACEP #6719) will take over to cover these courses for continuing education.)

California social workers can earn all of their CE credits online through athealth.com  Click here to view the course catalog

 

State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the California continuing education regulations, go to http://www.bbs.ca.gov/forms.shtml

Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on April 26, 2015