Continuing Education Requirements for LMFTs in Washington State

Washington State marriage and family therapists (LMFT) are required to complete 36 hours of continuing education (CE), including 6 hours of professional law and ethics, every 2 years. As of January 2014, LMFTs are also required to take a 6 hour course in suicide assessment, treatment, and management every 6 years. These 6 hours count toward the required 36 hours.

Online learning is limited to 26 credits. Therefore, WA state LMFTs can earn 26 of the 36 hours through distance learning courses, such as those offered by athealth.com

The WA State Board of Health, which is responsible for oversight of LMFTs in Washington State, accepts courses from providers approved by such professional organizations as NBCC. At Health (athealth.com) is an NBCC Approved Continuing Education Provider (ACEP #6719).

Washington State marriage and family therapists (LMFTs) can earn 26 of their 36 credits online through athealth.com, including meeting the requirement for 6 hours of training in suicide assessment, treatment, and management.   View the athealth course catalog at  http://athealth.com/course-catalog/

To view the Washington continuing education regulations, go to http://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificates/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/MarriageandFamilyTherapist

Page last modified or reviewed on April 26, 2015