- Washington State social workers are required to complete 36 hours of continuing education (CE), including 6 hours of professional law and ethics, every 2 years.
- As of January 2014, social workers are also required to take a 6 hour course in suicide assessment, treatment, and management every 6 years. These 6 hours count toward the required 36 hours.
- Online learning is limited to 26 credits. Therefore, social workers can earn 26 of the 36 hours through distance learning courses, such as those offered by athealth.com.
- Courses must be relevant and contribute to the advancement of professional competence.
CE Approvals: The WA State Board of Health accepts courses from providers approved by such professional organizations as ASWB and NBCC. At Health (athealth.com) is approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, (ACEP # 6719). Athealth.com courses are co-sponsored for social workers by At Health and Amedco, LLC. Amedco is approved as a provider (Provider # 1346) for continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB)
Washington State social workers can earn 26 of their 36 credits through athealth.com, including meeting the requirement for 6 hours of training in suicide assessment, treatment, and management. Click here to view the athealth.com course catalog.
To view the Washington continuing education regulations, go to http://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificates/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/SocialWorker
Page last modified or reviewed on August 1, 2015