Continuing Education (CE) for Virginia Social Workers

Attention: Several states and disciplines have relaxed requirements regarding live / in person Continuing Education due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Please check with your board to see the most current requirements.

Licensed clinical social workers (LCSW) in Virginia are required to complete thirty (30) hours of continuing education (CE) every 2 years, including 2 hours of ethics.

Licensed social workers (LSW) are required to complete fifteen (15) hours of continuing education (CE) every 2 years, including 2 hours of ethics.

Category I includes formally organized learning activities such as workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses. LCSWs must have a minimum of twenty (20) hours in Category I and LSWs must have ten (10) hours in Category I. All of the required credits can be earned in Category I.

Category II includes individual professional activities. LCSWs can earn a maximum of 10 of the required 30 hours in this category and LSWs can earn a maximum of five of the required 15 hours in this category.

CE Approvals

The Virginia Board of Social Work accepts courses by providers approved by any state social work board. At Health has been approved by the Texas State Board of Social Work Examiners to provide continuing education for social workers. Provider #7566.

The State Board of Virginia accepts programs offered by ASWB approved sponsors.

At Health, LLC, Provider #1707, is approved to offer social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program. Organizations, not individual courses, are approved as ACE providers. State and provincial regulatory boards have the final authority to determine whether an individual course may be accepted for continuing education credits. At Health, LLC, maintains responsibility for this course. ACE provider approval period: 6/3/2019-6/3/2020.

Virginia social workers can earn all of their CE credits online through

View the course catalog

State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the Virginia continuing education regulations, click the button below.

Virginia CE Regulations for Social Workers

Page last modified or reviewed by on Sep 28, 2020.

Ethics Courses

Featured Courses