Continuing Education for Rhode Island Social Workers

Attention: Several states and disciplines have relaxed requirements regarding live / in person Continuing Education due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Please check with your board to see the most current requirements.

CE requirements for social workers in RI (CSW, ICSW):

  • Must complete 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years, including 3 hours of cross-cultural practice and the alleviation of oppression, and 3 hours of professional ethics
  • Board accepts 6 hours of online courses
  • Renewal: April 30, odd-numbered years

CE Approvals

The Rhode Island Board of Social Work Examiners accepts programs from other state licensing boards of social work.

At Health is an approved provider of the Texas State Board of Social Work Examiners, provider #7566.

At Health, LLC, Provider #1707, is approved to offer social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program. Organizations, not individual courses, are approved as ACE providers. State and provincial regulatory boards have the final authority to determine whether an individual course may be accepted for continuing education credits. At Health, LLC, maintains responsibility for this course. ACE provider approval period: 6/3/2019-6/3/2020.

RI social workers can earn six (6) of their CE credits online through

View the course catalog

State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the Rhode Island continuing education regulations, click the button below.

CE Requirements for Rhode Island Social Workers

Page last modified or reviewed by on Sep 30, 2020.

Featured Courses

Ethics Courses