Continuing Education Requirements for Social Workers (LICSW, LASW) in Washington State

Attention: Several states and disciplines have relaxed requirements regarding live / in person Continuing Education due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Please check with your board to see the most current requirements.

  • Washington State social workers must complete 36 hours of continuing education (CE), including 6 hours of professional law and ethics, every 2 years.
  • Social workers must take a 6 hour course in suicide assessment, treatment, and management every 6 years. These 6 hours count toward the required 36 hours. Our course on suicide is listed on the WA State Department of Health Model List.
  • Social workers can earn 26 of the 36 hours through distance learning courses
  • Courses must be relevant to social work and contribute to the advancement of professional competence.

CE Approvals

The WA State Board of Health accepts courses from providers approved by local, state, national and international organizations that are industry-recognized, such as APA, NBCC, AAMFT, and others. At Health, LLC is approved by the American Psychological Association to sponsor continuing education for psychologists. At Health, LLC maintains responsibility for this program and its content.

At Health, LLC is approved by the Texas State Board of Social Work Examiners to provide continuing education for social workers. Provider #7566.

The State Board of Washington accepts programs offered by ASWB approved sponsors.

At Health, LLC, Provider #1707, is approved to offer social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program. Organizations, not individual courses, are approved as ACE providers. State and provincial regulatory boards have the final authority to determine whether an individual course may be accepted for continuing education credits. At Health, LLC, maintains responsibility for this course. ACE provider approval period: 6/3/2019-6/3/2020.

Washington State social workers can earn 26 of their 36 credits through, including meeting the requirement for 6 hours of training in suicide assessment, treatment, and management. 

View the course catalog

State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the Washington continuing education regulations, click the button below.

CE Requirements for Washington State Social Workers

Page last modified or reviewed by on Sep 30, 2020.

Ethics Courses

Featured Courses