WA State Certified Counselors and Certified Advisors – Continuing Education (CE) Requirements

Washington State certified counselors (CC) and certified advisors (CA) must complete

  • 36 credit hours of CE (continuing education) every 2 years, including 6 credits of ethics related to counseling
  • In addition, once every 6 years, WA State certified counselors and certified advisors must complete at least a 3 hour training in suicide assessment, including screening and referral. The training must be provided by a single provider.
  • Online learning is limited to 12 credits

CE Approval

The WA State Board of Health accepts courses from providers approved by such professional organizations NBCC and NAADAC.  Athealth.com is approved as a continuing education provider by the National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC) Provider #148460.

WA State certified counselors and certified advisors can take 12 of the required 36 credit hours online through athealth.

View the course catalog

State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view the Washington continuing education regulations, click the button below.

Washington CE Regulations for Certified Counselors and Advisors

Page last modified or reviewed by athealth.com on Jul 4, 2018.

Ethics Courses

Featured Courses